How to Disable Browsing History in Chrome

Did you know that you can browse the web in Google Chrome without leaving any tracks on your computer by disabling the browsing history? In this tutorial, I will show you how to disable browsing history in Chrome web browser.

When you visit any website (e.g. Facebook, YouTube, Pinterest, etc.) on the Internet with a web browser such as Google Chrome, the browser tracks the pages you visited, by default. The list of web pages (URLs in other words) that you have visited so far in your web browser are logged on a special page on the web browser that you (or anyone that has access to that device) can view any time. This list is called your browsing history and the page it is displayed on is called the History page.

How to Disable Browsing History in Chrome - 1

While it is possible to delete your web browsing history at any time, it may be cumbersome to do it every time you need some privacy with your browsing. Especially if you are sharing your computer with others or if you have allowed family members or friends to use your computer and that you are concerned about your privacy and you don't want anyone else to know what websites or pages you have been visiting, you may not always want to manually delete your browsing history as it is easy to forget and sometimes it may take long.

Browser developers have created a perfect solution for the users who prefer to spend their online time without leaving any tracks on their device, which is known as as private browsing.

The private browsing mode in Chrome is called as Incognito Mode. In private browsing or incognito mode, none of your browsing actions will be logged in your browsing history, hence nobody who checks your computer and browser will know which web pages you have visited. Note that your ISP (Internet Service Provider) will still know the websites and IP numbers that you connect to since all your web traffic is stored in their logs.

Also check the following tutorials:

How to Make Chrome the Default Browser
How to Close Other Tabs in Chrome
How to Duplicate a Page in Chrome
How to Uninstall Chrome

Disable Browsing History in Chrome with Incognito Mode

Activating private browsing mode (Incognito mode) is pretty simple in Chrome.

STEP 1: Open Chrome browser and click on the Customize and control Google Chrome button at the top right corner.

This will open a dropdown menu with many options.

How to Disable Browsing History in Chrome - 2

STEP 2: Click on the New incognito window option to open a new browser window in private browsing mode.

You can also use the Ctrl + Shift + N keyboard shortcut to quickly open a new incognito window.

This will open a new Chrome window where you can start browsing privately, without leaving any tracks or worrying about if anyone will see any websites you visit in your browsing history.

How to Disable Browsing History in Chrome - 3

Any time you want Chrome to continue tracking your browsing history, simply close the incognito window and continue browsing with the normal window. Remember that you won't be able to access your visited pages at a later time in any way. So, use the incognito mode only when you are sure you won't be needing the browsing history.

When you visit websites in Incognito mode, they will still be able to place cookies to track your browsing and to provide basic functionality such as user sessions, but once you close the browser, they will all be deleted automatically, leaving no tracks in your browsing history.

Note that if you keep browsing privately in the Incognito mode, you will also continue to see those annoying cookie notices on all the websites you visit regularly at each new browser session (i.e. you close and reopen the browser), since they will not know that you have visited them before and keep displaying the notice at your every visit.

Though this tutorial explains how to disable browsing history in Chrome web browser, some websites that you visit, or some apps that you use on a daily basis may keep tracking your actions and searches and store them on their history log pages. Following are some tutorials that may help you clear your search and watch histories and disable them on some of the popular websites:

- Clear YouTube Search History
- Disable YouTube Search History
- Clear YouTube Watch History
- Disable YouTube Watch History
- Delete Facebook Search History
- Disable Facebook Search History
- Delete Instagram Search History

Was this post helpful?

If you found this post to be helpful, please share it! Thank you :)

f t g+ in