How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account
If you think your days on Facebook are finally coming to an end, you have the option of permanently closing your account so that it will never be accessible again. In this quick tutorial, I will demonstrate how to delete your Facebook account for good.
For many Internet users, Facebook is the only thing they ever really need on the Internet. It provides a nice platform to connect and communicate with family and friends, check the news, watch interesting videos, learn new things, play games and more. If there were no other websites around and there was only Facebook, those users would most probably not be affected at all.
Though Facebook is among the top 10 most visited websites and its users often use it on a daily basis and find lots of things to do on it, there are also cases when you may feel like saying a permanent goodbye to your Facebook journey. For a number of reasons, you may want to close your Facebook account, such as you will no longer use it, you have another account and want to close this one or you are having privacy concerns and just want to totally remove yourself from Facebook.
TIP: You may also find our tutorial about how to permanently close Instagram account to be useful.
Before You Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account
If privacy is your only concern, there are a couple of things you can do to enhance the privacy and security of your Facebook account. You may block people, invites or apps, adjust who can see your stuff and contact you, prevent search engines from listing your Facebook profile, also you may delete your search history, in case you perform people searches that require privacy. Unfortunately, there's no way to permanently disable Facebook history at this time. You may even deactivate your account temporarily (or permanently as long as you never log back in) but no matter how much privacy precautions you take, your Facebook profile will never be totally private, and it may still be visible to others, at least your profile picture and header banner image.
Know that, once you submit your account for deletion, it will be deleted for good, including all the information, photos, files, status shares, messages and friends on your profile, and that is with no further ability for recovery. Hence, it is recommended to download your profile information from Facebook before deleting your account.
Now, if you are ready, we can continue with the account deletion process.
How to Close Your Facebook Account Permanently
This shall be a last reminder to you that when you permanently delete a Facebook account, you won't be able to recover it or any data, info, photos on it afterwards. If you want to back up your data, you shall do so now.
STEP 1: Visit facebook.com in your web browser and log in to your account.
STEP 2: Once you are logged in, visit the account deletion page on the link below:
Carefully read the instructions on this page before continuing.
STEP 3: When you are ready, click Delete My Account button.
This will open the Permanently Delete Account popup window, which will ask you to confirm account deletion.
STEP 4: Enter your password and the captcha text and then click OK.
You can now bid a good farewell to your Facebook account, as it is now in the process of deletion, it became immediately invisible and there's no turning back.
After you start the process for deleting your account, your profile will no longer be visible on Facebook, but the complete deletion of all the information and data that is associated to your account which are stored on Facebook's data servers, may take up to 90 days. Though, they won't be accessible to your friends or other users in this period. While everything that's stored in your account will be deleted permanently, things that you created but are not stored in your account (e.g. your private messages to friends) will not be deleted since they are associated with other accounts.
If you ever need to open a new Facebook account at a later time, you can create a new email address from one of these free email account providers and also don't forget to choose a highly secure password.
More Facebook Tips
How to Find Someone on Facebook with First Name Only How to View Sent Friend Requests in Facebook Facebook Search by Name and City: How Does It Work? How to Add Facebook Header Photo to Your Profile Stay Away from “Who Viewed Me on Facebook” Type of Apps 8 Tips to Protect Your Facebook Account from Getting Hacked How to Import Outlook (Hotmail) Contacts into Your Facebook Account How to Find Facebook Friends in a City How to Add Multiple Facebook Like Buttons on Your Website How to Add a Facebook Share Button to Your WebsiteFacebook Tips