How to Permanently Close Your LinkedIn Account
LinkedIn is one of the major professional social networks in the world and it is probably the most influential one that you would want to be on, if you are interested in creating a professional online presence for yourself and connect with others who are occupied in the same or related fields. It is a great platform to establish personal and professional connections, make friends, find clients, customers, partners, employees and jobs.
As in all social networks, you start your LinkedIn journey by creating an account, preparing your profile page and uploading your picture. You then describe yourself, your skills, current and previous businesses, employments, projects you worked on and start connecting with other members by sending them invitations or by accepting theirs. If you present yourself well and if you have a professional and nice attitude towards other members who you connect with or want to connect with, you will be successful on LinkedIn in the long term by making a lot of connections and getting endorsements and recommendations from people who you worked with or who know you.
Like everything valuable in life, creating an established, well-connected in other words, and respected LinkedIn profile takes a lot of time, effort and patience. If treated well, it can become one of your most powerful and trustworthy references on the web and it may open many doors to you in terms of meeting new people, finding new opportunities and growing your personal network. For that reason, when you think about closing your LinkedIn account permanently, you should consider it twice.
Not that your contacts, friends and followers on other social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter or Instagram don't matter, but your LinkedIn contacts and connections, their endorsements and recommendations matter even more if you care about your professional career and treat your LinkedIn profile as an online portfolio that you showcase when connecting with new people or applying for jobs and projects. Always remember that deleting something is quite easy; building it over many years on the other hand, is quite difficult. So, you should proceed with the account closure process only if you are absolutely sure about it.
How to Permanently Close Instagram Account
How to Close LinkedIn Account
Closing your LinkedIn account will delete your profile, your posts, messages, connections, any endorsements and recommendations that you have on your profile or provided to other members, so, it will be a good idea to back up your data as explained here. Though your profile won't be visible on LinkedIn anymore, it may still show up on search engines as their indexes usually won't be updated immediately after you close your account. When you close your account on LinkedIn, you will have a 20 days grace period in which you can reopen your account if you wish to do so. After that period, your account will be completely deleted.
STEP 1: Open LinkedIn in your web browser and log in to your account: linkedin.com
STEP 2: Once logged in, bring the mouse cursor over your profile icon on the top right corner to display the Account & Settings dropdown menu.
STEP 3: On the Account & Settings menu, click the Manage link next to the Privacy & Settings option.
This will open the settings page where you can adjust your account, privacy and communication settings. Make sure the Account tab is selected.
STEP 4: At the bottom of the Account tab, in Subscriptions section, click the Closing Your LinkedIn Account option.
You can also directly go to the Close LinkedIn Account page while you are logged in to your account. It will send you to the login screen if you are logged off.
On the next page, LinkedIn will say they are sorry to see you go, remind you that you will lose your recommendations and ask the reason of your account closure.
STEP 5: Select one of the reasons for closing your account, provide additional feedback if you want and click the Next button to proceed.
STEP 6: As the last step, you will be asked to enter your password on the next page, to confirm that you want to close your account. You can also unsubscribe from receiving email communications from LinkedIn. When you click the Close Account button, your account will be closed.
This is how a LinkedIn account is permanently closed.
Note that if you own any LinkedIn groups or if you are subscribed to the premium membership plan, you will need to sort them out before totally closing your account. Also keep in mind that you can always open a new account on LinkedIn even after that 20 days period, if you wish to make a fresh start and connect with people again.
More LinkedIn Tips
How to Delete LinkedIn Search History How to Create a Custom LinkedIn Share Button How to Add LinkedIn Share Button to Your Website How to Merge Multiple LinkedIn Accounts How to Send an Invitation on LinkedIn How to Check Sent Invitations in LinkedIn How to View Your Own Updates in LinkedInLinkedIn Tips